Television: Jem and The Holograms

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/GHpgtIvvMM4&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen><!–iframe>

For this weeks favorite television series, I give you Jem and the Holograms. This was one of my favorite animations when I was younger.

Jem and the Holograms is an animated television series that ran from 1985 to 1988 about a music company owner Jerrica Benton, her singer alter-ego Jem, her band the Holograms, and their adventures.

I have episode 10 of season 2 ‘Music is Magic’ on VHS and I lost count of how many times I watched the episode.

From remembering memories about Jem and the Holograms, the animated series help start my love of music and all things musical. As I love old time musicals, like Calamity Jane, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers etc. This series will always hold a special place in my childhood memories, as I remember watching the VHS so much I may have worn out the video tape. šŸ™‚

Jem and The Holograms

I loved the songs in the show, and the fairly simplistic plot-line in the episodes. As I watched the program mainly because it was colorful, had music and the lead character was female. As I remember a lot of animations were aimed towards young boys mainly.

Jem and the holograms is one of them television programs that once it gets into your brain. It sticks in there and comes up at really random moments, for me it pops up sometimes when I hear the word ‘magic’ or the saying ‘music is magic.’ I then get a little craving to watch the animation again.

As I have not watched this series in a few years, I was unaware that they were planning to make a live action film based on the film. I have watched the 2 trailers already released and I am not entirely happy with the film. As it seems to about teenagers as Jem and the holograms and there rise to success. Because this isn’t how I remember Jem and the holograms, I won’t be watching the film as the film could end up ruining some of my childhood memories that I remember with happiness.

Have you ever had a television program that never leaves your brain, no matter how long ago you watched the program?

Maria x

Leave a Reply

