Day 2

For day 2 of the 30 day challenge, it asks me to write about something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot.

There is one big memory that sticks out for me and that is someone, I can’t remember who it was; told me that I was two years behind all my other classmates at primary school, intelligent wise. This memory stuck with me because I was already struggling with school, with what I later found out was dyslexia.

I remember when I was in school, I struggled with reading, words would jumble up or I would see words in a sentence that was not there. I also struggled with learning my times tables and to this day I still don’t know my times tables without the help of a chart or a calculator. But up until the point of someone telling me I was two years behind, I still tried my best at school, putting a lot of effort into my school work. But after being told this, I all but gave up on school and only did enough to pass my classes, in order to leave school because of this lack of effort into my school work I came away with very poor GCSE marks.

It was only after I started my ICT Practitioners course and was tested for learning disabilities and found out I was dyslexic and was given the help I needed with my coursework. Because, of this help I was given it helped motivate me to continue my education, this motivation helped me get my BA in Business Studies from Bangor University. Although I completed my BA I still struggle with writing because I have a habit of either not knowing where my punctuation goes or saying the same thing twice but in different words, and I am hoping to eventually get out of this habit.

So although at first, this memory brought my self-esteem down, but after finding out about my learning disabilities, it makes me want to strive for more and I am not going to let it stop me from pursing my writing and seeing were it can go.

 

Maria x

Leave a Reply

